Aakash Chopra picks his all time Royal Challengers Bangalore XI


Former Indian opening batsman and current commentator Aakash Chopra uploaded a video on YouTube, where he made an all time XI for the Royal Challengers Bangalore.

The former Cricketer from Delhi left out quite a few illustrious names in the process. He went with Chris Gayle and Virat Kohli as his opening batsmen. Chopra also assigned Kohli as the captain of the franchise, given his prowess as captain since 2013. The opening batsmen were two easy picks, Gayle and Kohli have been two of the most important players for the franchise over the years. By the time Gayle was released in 2018, he had already made a huge impact.

KL Rahul was the next pick, Chopra also decided to assign the wicket keeping duties to him. AB de Villiers, who has been a prolific figure for the RCB since 2011, was slotted in at number 4.

ALSO READ: Steyn leaves de Villiers out of his best XI

Robin Uthappa and Ross Taylor, both of whom were with the RCB in the initial years, completed the middle order. Surprisingly, Mitchell Starc was picked as an all rounder, at number 7, ahead of the likes of Jacques Kallis or Shane Watson, both of whom have played for the franchise.

Chopra clarified, “I wanted to have Dale Steyn and Mitchell Starc both in my line-up. However, I could only field four overseas players. I tried my best to look for an Indian middle-order batsman who has done well for the RCB side, but I couldn’t find one. This is why I had to include Ross Taylor.”

He went on to pick Anil Kumble and Yuzvendra Chahal as his leg spinners. The final two members in his line up were the two opening bowlers, Zaheer Khan and Vinay Kumar.

This is what his line up looks like:
Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli (c), KL Rahul (wk), AB de Villiers, Ross Taylor, Robin Uthappa, Mitchell Starc, Anil Kumble, Yuzvendra Chahal, R Vinay Kumar, Zaheer Khan