Was this a waist-high no-ball?

CONTROVERSY: Waist-high no-ball denies India women record-breaking win against Australia


It does not get more dramatic than this. India women were celebrating a historic triumph and then the umpires intervened. It all went downhill from there. 

India’s second ODI against Australia at Harrup Park in Mackay took a cruel turn in the final over bowled by Jhulan Goswami. Needing 13 to win off the final over, Australia had opening batter and centurion Beth Mooney at one end and Nicola Carey at the other. Goswami took the ball and things unfolded rapidly from there.

Ball 49.1 – 3 runs – Full toss and an overthrow and India concede 3 runs off it, but get Mooney off strike.

Ball 49.2 – 2 runs -Full ball outside off and a misfield allows Australia two runs.

Ball 49.3 – NO BALL – A beamer that crashes into Carey’s helmet. Goswami apologises. It’s a no ball.

Ball 49.4 – 1 BYE – The free hit is bowled really well, just a bye sneaked through.

BALL 49.5 – Full ball and Carey takes another double. 

THREE to win off ONE ball.

Ball 49.6 – NO BALL – A full toss and Carey hits it straight to square leg. The catch is taken and India celebrate, but hold on. The umpires want to check for waist height. IT’S A NO-BALL!! 

Multiple replays and angles taken, and the ball seems to be just on or above waist height. The no ball is confirmed and Australia need two to win off the last ball.

Ball 49.6 – TWO RUNS – Australia win!!!! They sneak in a couple and get through for their 26th successive win in ODIs.

Australia women were on a record-breaking 25-win streak in ODIs, stretching back to 2017. India thought they had broken the streak until the replays denied them the win.

Was it a no-ball though?

Judge for yourself.





The reactions on social media were intense. India had lost a game they almost, almost had in the bag. A few pointed at the fact that Goswami was allowed to continue bowling despite bowling two deliveries above waist height in the over.

A few others thought India were robbed and that it wasn’t a no ball being a very marginal call.



Whatever the debates, the result is done and dusted. The series is now led by Australia 2-0. They had won the first ODI by nine wickets.  

Also Read: WATCH: First glimpse at Pakistan’s Lasith Malinga clone – 20-year-old Zaman Khan