IPL Betting Sites

BCCI announce new All-India Women’s selection committee, Neetu David appointed chairperson


The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced former Indian left-arm spinner, Neetu David as the chairperson of the newly structured All-India Women’s selection committee.  The committee led by David will consist of other former Indian Cricketers, namely, Mithu Mukherjee, Renu Margrate, Arati Vaidya and V Kalpana.

David, who scalped 182 wickets in 107 International Cricket matches for the Indian women’s Cricket team, with her best figures of 8/53 against England at Jamshedpur in 1995 being the best bowling performance by an Indian women in Test Cricket, replaced Hemlata Kala, whose term ended in March 2020. Kala’s panel consisted of Sudha Shah, Anjali Pendharkar, Shashi Gupta and Lopamudra Banerjee, all of whom represented the Indian Women’s Cricket team in the 80s and the 90s.

ALSO READ: How the BCCI helped India Women directly qualify for 2021 World Cup

BCCI put out a statement that read, “The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Saturday announced the appointment of All-India Women’s Selection Committee. The Board had invited applications for the respective positions earlier this year via a press release and a notification on its official website – BCCI.TV

All-India Women’s Selection Committee – 

1) Neetu David (10 Tests and 97 WODIs)
2) Arati Vaidya (3 Tests and 6 WODIs)
3) Renu Margrate (5 Tests and 23 WODIs)
4) Venkatacher Kalpana (3 Tests and 8 WODIs)
5) Mithu Mukherjee (4 Tests)

ALSO READ: Mithali Raj wants women’s IPL next year, says BCCI shouldn’t wait forever

On account of seniority, Neetu David, the former left-arm spinner, will head the five-member committee. She holds the world record for best bowling figures in an innings in a Test for her 8/53 against England Women in the Jamshedpur Test held in 1995. She is also the second-highest wicket-taker for India in WODIs with 141 scalps and was also the first from India to take 100 WODI wickets.”