Birmingham Phoenix Captain- Moeen Ali

Birmingham Phoenix in The Hundred: Full Squad, Captain, Coach, Key players & Best Playing XI

cricket betting

Birmingham Phoenix had three spots to fill before heading into the inaugural season of The Hundred. They acquired the services of all-rounder, Tom Abell, opener Daniel Bell-Drummond and Miles Hammond in the recently concluded draft. The women’s side added England’s middle order batter, Georgia Elwiss to their squad.

The men’s team will be led by the English all-rounder, Moeen Ali. Kiwi skipper, Kane Williamson and Chris Woakes are the other big names in the squad. As for the women’s team, they will be led by the White Ferns all-rounder, Sophie Devine.


Men’s Team– Moeen Ali

Women’s Team- Sophie Devine


Men’s Team– Andrew McDonald

Women’s Team– Ben Sawyer

Birmingham Phoenix Squad

Men’s Squad: Moeen Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Henry Brookes, Pat Brown, Chris Cooke, Tom Helm, Adam Hose, Benny Howell, Liam Livingstone, Dominic Sibley, Kane Williamson, Chris Woakes, Adam Zampa, Tom Abell, Daniel Bell-Drummond, Miles Hammond

Women’s Squad: Sophie Devine, Emily Arlott, Thea Brookes, Gwen Davies, Ria Fackrell, Phoebe Franklin, Ashleigh Gardner, Kirstie Gordon, Amy Jones, Evelyn Jones, Marie Kelly, Abthaa Maqsood, Isabelle Wong, Georgia Elwiss

Key Players for Birmingham Phoenix for The Hundred 2021

Kane Williamson

Kane Williamson, the New Zealand skipper will be one of the key players for the Phoenix in the upcoming season. Not only has Williamson been of the best Test match batters over the past few years, his performance in the T20I cricket has been astonishing as well. He has represented his nation in 64 T20Is, amassing 1788 runs at a strike rate of 125.

Chris Woakes


Chris Woakes is the centrally contracted ECB player in the Phoenix squad

Chris Woakes is a centrally contracted ECB player in the Phoenix’s squad. According to the rules, each bowler can bowl a maximum of 20 balls in the short 100 ball innings. Woakes variation with the ball and his ability to bowl well with the new ball and towards the end, will be a crucial factor in his team’s journey in the inaugural season.

Also Read: Southern Brave In The Hundred: Full Squad, Captain, Coach, Key Players & Best Playing XI

Sophie Devine

Sophie Devine is the Star Player for Birmingham Phoenix in The Hundred

Sophie Devine will lead the women’s team

Sophie Devine, captain of Birmingham Phoenix is one of the best all-rounders in the women’s game currently. She has represented New Zealand in 94 T20Is, scoring 2447 runs and picking up 91 wickets so far. Devine’s contributions with the bat and ball will be a vital asset for the Phoenix.

Ashleigh Gardner

Ashleigh Gardner

Ashleigh Gardner, the Australian all-rounder is another vital member in the women’s team. Gardner is an explosive batsman who has a knack of scoring runs at a good strike rate and can do the job with the ball as well. She has a strike rate of around 130 in her T20I career and an economy of just under seven.

Best Birmingham Phoenix Playing XI

Men’s Team (upto three overseas players)-  Daniel Bell-Drummond, Liam Livingstone, Kane Williamson, Tom Abell, Henry Brookes, Moeen Ali, Benny Howell, Chris Woakes, Adam Zampa, Shaheen Afridi, Tom Helm

Women’s Team: Sophie Devine, Amy Jones, Marie Kelly, Ashleigh Gardner, Georgia Elwiss, Ria Fackrell, Emily Arlott, Evelyn Jones, Phoebe Franklin, Thea Brookes, Kirstie Gordon