IPL Betting Sites
South Africa Cricket finds its own discourse

England vs South Africa T20Is: Can the Proteas’ bowling firepower keep England at bay?


The South African team, led by their ever-reliant wicketkeeper-batsman, Quinton de Kock will be gearing up to face England at home.  The Proteas, taking the field for the first time in over nine months, will host England for three One-Day Internationals, and an equal number of T20 matches. First up, are the three T20Is, which are scheduled to begin from 27th November. This is the second time England’s tour of  South Africa is happening this year.

The two teams had clashed in a three-match T20 series earlier this year in South Africa. Eoin Morgan’s men defeated the Proteas, clinching the series in the very last over of the final match. England won the series 2-1, thanks to a few amazing knocks by England captain, Eoin Morgan. He was also adjudged the man of the series for his amazing knocks from the middle order.

Also ReadAB de Villiers was definitely in line to make a return to International Cricket: Quinton de Kock

England played a 3 match T20 series against Australia in the beginning of September, just before the IPL got underway. They won the series 2-1, inspite of missing their star players like Jason Roy, Ben Stokes through injury and personal reasons respectively. Both the players are back in the mix for the tour of South Africa, which will bolster their batting lineup. It will be interesting to see what batting lineup England go with.Dawid Malan had been in good form in the series, against Pakistan and Australia, but with Jason Roy coming in, he is most likely to open the innings alongside Jos Butler. Jonny Bairstow is expected to take the number 3 position, in place of Dawid Malan.

England’s T20I Squad to face South Africa: Eoin Morgan ( Cap), Ben Stokes, Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow(wk), Jos Butler(wk), Dawid Malan, Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Sam Billings(wk), Jofra Archer, Mark Wood, Adil Rashid, Reece Topley,Chris Jordan.

Eoin Morgan and Ben Stokes will occupy the middle order slots. England are most likely to play two spinners in the form of Adil Rashid, and Moeen Ali. It remains to be seen if Eoin Morgan goes for an extra batsman ( Sam Billings), or goes with an all rounder in Sam Curran who can prove handy with the bat. Jofra Archer, Chris Jordan and Tom Curran are expected to lead the bowling lines.

Expected England Playing XI: Jos Butler, Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Eoin Morgan, Ben Stokes, Sam Billings, Moeen Ali, Sam Curran/Tom Curran, Jofra Archer, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid.

South Africa have not played any international cricket after their T20 series loss to England, earlier this year. Anrich Nortje, has been the find of the IPL for the Proteas, who will add more depth to their already potent attack consisting of Kagiso Rabada and Lungi Ngidi. Temba Bavuma is expected to continue opening alongside his captain, Quinton De Kock, which they did against England earlier this year.

Also Read: Can Quinton de Kock take to captaincy like fish to water?

Either of Nortje or Ngidi might have to sit out to make way for Beauran Hendricks who can be selected in the team, due to the fact that he is a left-armer. Tabraiz Shamsi will lead the spin department as the only spinner, if they decide not to play Keshav Maharaj. Faf Du Plessis will come in at number 3, followed by Rassie van der Dussen at number 4, and David Miller at number 5.

Also Read: Virat Kohli Nominated In All Categories As ICC Opens Poll For Decade Awards

South Africa’s Squad to face England: Quniton De Kock ( wk and captain), Faf Du Plessis, Temba Bavuma, Reeza  Hendricks, Janneman Malan, David Miller, Rassie Van der Dussen, George Linde, JJ Smunts, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Heinrich Klassen ( wk), Pite Van Biljon(wk), Kyle Verreynne, Junior Dala, Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Tabariz Shamsi, Lutho Sipamla, Glenton Stuurman.

Expected South Africa Playing XI: Quinton De Kock, Temba Bavuma, Faf Du Plessis, Rassie Van der Dussen, David Miller, Dwaine Pretorius, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Lungi Ngidid, Tabraiz Shamsi.

The three-match T20 series, beginning from 27th November, is expected to be a thriller, with England starting as favourites to clinch the series. The South African team will be banking on the their bowlers to do the job for them, and keep the English batsman subdued.