India's Rohit Sharma on Sunday broke Sanath Jayasuriya's 22-year-old record for most runs in a calendar year by an opener across formats.

India vs Australia, 3rd ODI: Rohit Sharma becomes the third fastest batsman to 9000 ODI runs

India opener Rohit Sharma on Sunday became the third fastest to 9000 ODI runs during the series-decider against Australia in Bengaluru.
Rohit reached the milestone in the first over of India’s chase with a double.
Also ReadWV Raman ‘fancies’ India’s chances in T20 World Cup

Rohit took 217 innings to reach the landmark while his skipper Virat Kohli is the fastest to 9000 runs with 194 innings. AB de Villiers is the second fastest, having reached there in 208 innings.

Besides Rohit and Kohli, the other Indians who have crossed the 9000-run mark are Sachin Tendulkar (18,426 runs), Saurav Ganguly (11,221), Rahul Dravid (10,768) Mahendra Singh Dhoni (10,599) and Mohammed Azaruddin (9,378).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *