IPL 2020: MI vs RCB – A milestone for Jasprit Bumrah and Padikkal’s remarkable debut season


Contrary to what was expected, new opener Josh Philippe and Devdutt Padikkal shared a 71-run stand, before Philippe was stumped by Chahar. Virat Kohli, who was unusually edgy also went off soon. After the slowdown in the middle overs, Padikkal tonked Chahar for a 16-run over. But wickets kept falling at the other end, with Padikkal eventually being out to Jasprit Bumrah in a double-wicket maiden. RCB somehow manage to set a target of 164.

Mohammed Siraj and Yuzvendra Chahal regularly taking the wickets did not make things look easy for Mumbai Indians. But it was one man, Suryakumar Yadav, who stood tall and managed to take Mumbai Indians over the line. Even though the run-rate was nearing 10, Suryakumar always kept it in check with his occasional boundaries. The gamble of using just five bowlers heavily misfired for RCB, with the returning Dale Steyn being tonked all over the ground. Here’s a look at the stats from the match.

3 – Devdutt Padikkal becomes the third player to score 400+ runs in debut IPL season (excluding inaugural season in 2008). The others are Shreyas Iyer in 2015 and Jonny Bairstow in 2019.

102 – Jasprit Bumrah has 102 wickets in the IPL, making him the eighth player and fourth pacer to have taken 100 or more wickets for a single team in IPL. Three of them are from Mumbai Indians, the most of any team.

Jasprit Bumrah

Jasprit Bumrah 

Most IPL wickets for a team:-
170 – Lasith Malinga for MI
127 – Sunil Narine for KKR
127 – Harbhajan Singh for MI
118 – Yuzvendra Chahal for RCB
112 – Bhuvneshwar Kumar for SRH
110 – Dwayne Bravo for CSK
102 – Jasprit Bumrah* for MI
100 – Amit Mishra for DC

200 – The same wicket which dismissed Virat Kohli had also made Jasprit Bumrah the first Indian pacer to 200 T20 wickets.

2 – This is the second time in IPL where Dale Steyn conceded above 40 runs in consecutive innings, without taking a single wicket. The first such instance was in 2014, while playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad.

2 – This is only the second instance since 2014, of both teams having their top-scorer as an uncapped player in an IPL match (Devdutt Padikkal for RCB, Suryakumar Yadav for KKR). The other such instance was during the first qualifier of 2017 IPL (Suryakumar Yadav for KKR, Krunal Pandya for MI). Before 2014, it was a relatively more common occasion, with 11 such instances.

60 – Total defeats of Virat Kohli as a captain in IPL. He is only the third captain to lose at least 60 IPL matches, after Dhoni and Gambhir.

74 – Devdutt Padikkal’s score in this match, despite RCB losing. Prior to this match, RCB won every match where Padikkal crossed 30, and lost every match where he scored below 30 in an innings.

32.75 – Win percentage of RCB against MI, which is their lowest against any IPL team, with 9 wins in 29 matches. They have a 34.61% winning record against CSK.

ALSO READ: Aus squad for India series

An aspiring cricket statisitician who likes to dig numbers for any cricket in the world.