IPL 2020 Qualifier-1 MI v DC – Stats from a stunning Mumbai Indians win


This has been arguably the closest IPL season with all the teams scoring nearly equal points. If there was one team that could differentiate its performance from the rest, it can only be the four-time champion Mumbai Indians. In the first innings, Mumbai Indians managed a round 200, with fifties from uncapped players Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan, though the long-serving T20 players Rohit Sharma and Kieron Pollard were out for ducks.

Mumbai Indians who conceded a ten-wicket win against SRH in their recent match, definitely wanted a wicket as quick as they could. And they got three within no time, as Delhi Capitals became the first team to start with zero for three in IPL history. Right there, the match was sealed. From there, Marcus Stoinis and Axar Patel scored some consolation runs to reduce the margin of the loss.

Stats from a Mumbai Indians special

1 – Suryakumar Yadav becomes the first ever player to reach the milestone of 2000 IPL runs while still being uncapped. He isn’t named in the squad for India’s upcoming tour of Australia as well.

2 – By dismissing Suryakumar, Anrich Nortje took his 20th wicket of the season. Out of the four bowlers who picked 20+ wickets for Delhi Capitals in an IPL season, two of them are from the current season.
Most wickets by a Delhi Capitals bowler in an IPL season
25 – Kagiso Rabada in 2020
25 – Morne Morkel in 2012
25 – Kagiso Rabada in 2019
20 – Anrich Nortje in 2020
19 – Umesh Yadav in 2012 

8 – Prithvi Shaw and Shikhar Dhawan become the eighth opening pair to score ducks in an IPL innings. They are the second pair to do it for Delhi Capitals and the first pair to do it against Mumbai Indians. Though it is the eighth time, it is quite rare, being the first such instance since 2014.
Both openers out for ducks in an IPL innings
Parthiv Patel & Stephen Fleming (CSK) v RR in 2008
Graeme Smith & Swapnil Asnodkar (RR) v DEC in 2009
Adam Gilchrist & Herschelle Gibbs (DEC) v CSK in 2009
Luke Ronchi & JP Duminy (MI) v DC in 2009
Gautam Gambhir & David Warner (DC) v DEC in 2009
Brendon McCullum & VVS Laxman (KTK) v PWI in 2011
Jacques Kallis & Gautam Gambhir (KKR) v DC in 2014
Prithvi Shaw & Shikhar Dhawan (DC) v MI in 2020

1 – After also losing their third batsman for duck, Delhi Capitals achieved the dubious record of being the first team to start at a score of 0/3 in IPL.
Lowest score at the fall of third wicket in IPL
0 – DC v MI at Dubai, 2020
1 – DEC v CSK at East London, 2009
1 – KTK vs Deccan at Kochi, 2011
3 – RR vs Deccan at Port Elizabeth, 2009
3 – CSK vs MI at Kolkata, 2013
3 – KKR vs RCB at Abu Dhabi, 2020

1 – Marcus Stoinis becomes the first player to score above fifty and pick at least one wicket in a match twice in the current season. Tom Curran, Vijay Shankar and Ben Stokes could do it once.

Mumbai Indians

                                                                           A fifth IPL final for MI

3 – Jasprit Bumrah of Mumbai Indians becomes the third player to take multiple four-wicket hauls in an IPL season. The first two bowlers are Munaf Patel in 2012 and Lasith Malinga in 2019.

ALSO READ: Women’s T20 Challenge – Trailblazers crush Velocity

7 – Bumrah is now the seventh bowler to take ten or more wickets in three consecutive matches.
Most wickets in consecutive IPL matches
11 – Bhuvneshwar Kumar in 2017
11 – Sohail Tanvir in 2008
10 – Jaydev Unadkat in 2017
10 – Munaf Patel in 2012
10 – Kagiso Rabada in 2019
10 – Andrew Tye in 2018

5 – This is the 5th biggest loss by a team in IPL playoffs in runs margin. While batting first, it is Mumbai Indians biggest win in IPL Play-offs and also the highest by any team in the first qualifier in the league.
Biggest wins by runs in IPL playoffs
105 – RCB vs DC in 2008 (semi-final)
86 – CSK vs DC in 2012 (qualifier-2)
71 – RCB vs RR in 2015 (eliminator)
58 – CSK vs RCB in 2011 (final)
57 – MI vs DC in 2020 (qualifier-1)
48 – CSK vs MI in 2013 (qualifier-1)
43 – RCB vs MI in 2011 (qualifier-2)
41 – MI vs CSK in 2015 (final)

An aspiring cricket statisitician who likes to dig numbers for any cricket in the world.