IPL Betting Sites

IPL 2020: Numbers from Sunday’s Super Over Showdowns


We had quite the weekend. While Saturday’s double headers were both last-over chases, Sunday was even bigger as we got to see three Super Overs in the course of the two games. A lot of players got off to good starts in the both of the matches on Sunday but KL Rahul and Quinton de Kock were the only players who went past the fifty-run mark. While Rahul won his third Man-of-the-Match in this IPL 2020 season, Lockie Ferguson was adjudged the same in his maiden appearance for Kolkata Knight Riders this season. Here’s a look at the numbers from the tied games.

Stats from SRH vs KKR, 18 Oct 2020

4 – David Warner became the fifth player to cross 5000 runs in the IPL and the first overseas player reaching there. The other players with over 5000 IPL runs are Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina and Rohit Sharma.

135 – Total innings taken by Warner to reach 5000 IPL runs, which is the fastest by any player. Virat Kohli took 157 innings, Raina took 173 and Rohit took 187.

Also Read: Mohammed Shami is the man of the match for me for his super over last night: Chris Gayle

3/15 – Bowling figures of Lockie Ferguson in his first match of IPL 2020, which is the best bowling figures by a KKR bowler this season and also the best bowling figures against SRH this season. Prasidh Krishna is the only other KKR bowler to take a three-wicket haul (3/29 vs KXIP).

145 – Total balls bowled by Pat Cummins in between his two consecutive wickets, across seven matches. Since dismissing Steven Smith on 30th Sep, he never picked another wicket until the wicket of Vijay Shankar in the recent match.

2 – Out of the three wickets of Pat Cummins in IPL 2020, two of them are against Sunrisers Hyderabad. Before Vijay Shankar’s wicket, he got rid of the opener Jonny Bairstow in the earlier encounter.

1 – This is the first time David Warner’s side lost the match while he remained not-out (albeit a Super Over defeat). He was unbeaten in a total of eight occasions prior to this match, and his team won all.

3 – This is the first ever IPL season with three tied matches (later becomes four), while the 2013 and 2019 seasons have also seen two ties.

1 – Eoin Morgan became the first captain to win a Super Over in ODI, T20I and IPL. Virat Kohli and Mahela Jayawardene are the only other captains to tie a match in all these three formats.

Super Over

Lockie Ferguson dismisses David Warner in the Super Over between KKR and SRH | Credit: Twitter/Indian Premier League

Stats from MI vs KXIP, 18 Oct 2020

1 – This is the first ever official T20 match featuring multiple Super Overs. Three months after the 2019 World Cup final, the MCC has decided to change the rules to allow multiple Super Overs in case a Super Over got tied.

3 – This is the third win for Kings XI Punjab in IPL 2020, and each of them are against the teams at the top-three of the points table.

 1 – In just nine matches, KL Rahul becomes the first player to score more than 500 runs in this IPL season.

Also Read: IPL 2020: The impact moments from a Super Over Sunday

 3 – Rahul becomes the third player to score 500+ runs in three consecutive seasons of the IPL. The first player is Chris Gayle who reached half-a-thousand in every season from 2011-13, followed by David Warner who did it it in four consecutive seasons from 2015-18.

 19 – Total sixes hit by Nicholas Pooran in IPL 2020, out of which 9 sixes have travelled at least 89 meters distance. He owns both of the top two biggest sixes this season.

100 – Total wickets of Jasprit Bumrah for Mumbai Indians, becoming the third MI player to reach the milestone after Lasith Malinga and Harbhajan Singh. Mumbai Indians is now the only IPL team with three bowlers picking 100 wickets each.

 2 – Total number of times Jasprit Bumrah bowled a Super Over this year and Mumbai Indians lost both. Prior to this season, his team have won both the Super Overs he bowled.

 6 – KL Rahul is the sixth player to win Man-of-the-Match during each of his team’s first 3 wins in an IPL season, and the second KXIP player after Glenn Maxwell. The other players to win Man-of-the-Match in their team’s first three wins are:-

Jacques Kallis for RCB in 2009
Amit Mishra for SRH in 2013
Glenn Maxwell for KXIP in 2014
Aaron Finch for GL in 2016
Andre Russell for KKR in 2019

An aspiring cricket statisitician who likes to dig numbers for any cricket in the world.