Kieron Pollard to lead Trinbago Knight Riders in CPL 2020


All-rounder Kieron Pollard will be leading the Trinbago Knight Riders in the upcoming edition of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL), taking over the reins from Dwayne Bravo, who led the side to consecutive title wins in 2017 and 2018.

Pollard led the Trinidad and Tobago-based franchise last year as well, after Dwayne Bravo was ruled out of the tournament after being struck on the hand during a practice session prior to the tournament. Trinbago Knight Riders, under Pollard’s captaincy, sailed through to the playoffs, eventually conceding defeat to the Barbados Tridents.

ALSO READ: Kieron Pollard: Players should use break to introspect

Venky Mysore, owner of the Knight Riders franchise, told T&T Guardian, “We are happy that Kieron who is the West Indies captain is our leader at TKR. The champion DJ Bravo has been coming to me year after year and asking me to give someone else the captaincy because he wants to just concentrate on playing and enjoying the game. I always told him not until I am ready and that time has come and he is very happy to play under Pollard.”
“They are great friends and they will both come together to give us the best chance at the CPL this year. Bravo said he has played under Pollard before and this will be the best thing at this time for all parties. Pollard was kind enough to accept the position to lead the team at the tournament. He said if we wanted him to do it he will and we said that we will be delighted to have him as captain again.”

Team manager Colin Borde said, “Both Bravo and Pollard have captained each other at the local and international level and so are very comfortable working together and sharing information. Both are extremely accomodating in their approach to leadership.”

Bravo will continue to be a part of the leadership group and has been named the vice-captain. The Trinbago Knight Riders, who will get to play every single game of theirs on home turf, given that the entire CPL will take place at Trinidad and Tobago, start off their 2020 campaign on the opening day against Guyana Amazon Warriors.