Maharashtra Govt exempts quarantine to Ajinkya Rahane and co. in Mumbai


After special permission obtained from Sharad Pawar, Maharashtra Government has given quarantine exemption to Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Prithvi Shaw, Shardul Thakur, and Ravi Shastri, who arrived in Mumbai on Thursday morning.

According to the special guidelines from the Municipal Corporation of Greater Mumbai (MCGM), for passengers coming from Europe, UK, South Africa, and the Middle East, a 14-day Quarantine is a must.

Given Indian players returned via Dubai, they were bound to undergo 14-day isolation with half of the period in institutional quarantine.

But after the authorities at the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) requested Pawar to ensure that the quarantine is not imposed on them, the players and support staff have been exempted.

“We requested Mr. Pawar to help obtain an exemption from institutional isolation for these players. They have been in quarantine since August and have also had regular Covid tests. The exemption was obtained at around midnight (on Wednesday),” an MCA official, who was at the airport to receive the victorious members from Australia, told Cricbuzz.

Indian players to assemble in Chennai on January 26

The Indian players who are not a part of the Australia series but have been picked for the first two Tests in Australia will be joining the bio bubble in Chennai on January 23 while the rest of the Australia-returned players will be joining the bubble on January 26.

The players will be part of a bio-bubble for seven days before they start their practice on February 5.

“A hotel has been booked for the teams near the Chepauk and the players will be allowed to practice only from February 2,” a Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA) official said.