NZ v IND ODIs: A few stats and numbers from India’s horrendous series


This India-New Zealand series (see all NZ v IND ODIs here)  has seen the tables being turned perfectly upside down. New Zealand after suffering a 0-5 whitewash to India in T20Is has later whitewashed the same team 3-0 in ODIs. The T20Is result was kind of unexpected because New Zealand are playing in their own home ground, but the reverse result in ODIs was also an unexpected one due to the earlier T20I result and India’s ODI record in recent times.

Eight matches, which were closely fought went entirely in favour of one team in ODIs and the other team in T20Is. While it was the opening batsmen and Ross Taylor for New Zealand in Williamson’s absence, it was the middle order for India in Rohit’s absence.

Ross Taylor who shone in the World Cup semi-final against India, continued that form against the same team – as he scored 194 runs, being dismissed only once. Though Yuzvendra Chahal wasn’t picked for the first ODI, he finished as India’s leading wicket taker, with 6 wickets. He finished as the joint leading wicket taker along with Hamish Bennett who made a comeback into the New Zealand team after three years.

Here’s a look at the important numbers from the recent NZ v IND ODIs:-

1 – This is the first time India got whitewashed in an ODI series under the captaincy of Virat Kohli. The last time India were whitewashed in an ODI series (at least three defeats) was back in 2006 against South Africa – where Dravid captained two matches and Sehwag two. Overall, this is only the fourth time, India suffered a whitewash.

India getting whitewashed in an ODI series (min: 3 defeats)

Year Opposition H/A Result Man of the series
1983 West Indies Home Lost 0-5 N/A
1989 West Indies Away Lost 0-5 N/A
2006 South Africa Away Lost 0-4 Shaun Pollock
2020 New Zealand Away Lost 0-3 Ross Taylor


1 – In the final match, KL Rahul became the first Indian wicket-keeper to score an ODI hundred in New Zealand. This is the seventh hundred by a wicket-keeper away in New Zealand, including Adam Gilchrist who did it twice.

Shreyas Iyer

KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer were in good form in the NZ v IND ODIs

Wicket-keepers to score an ODI hundred against New Zealand in New Zealand

Player Country Runs Mins BF Ground Date
Adam Gilchrist Australia 118 137 117 Christchurch 8-Feb-98
Adam Gilchrist Australia 128 109 98 Christchurch 26-Feb-00
Brad Haddin Australia 110 176 121 Hamilton 9-Mar-10
AB de Villiers South Africa 106* 151 106 Wellington 25-Feb-12
Kumar Sangakkara Sri Lanka 113* 159 105 Wellington 29-Jan-15
KL Rahul India 112 150 113 Mt. Maunganui 11-Feb-20


2 – The T20I series started with New Zealand scoring 203 in the first match, but the target got chased down and they went on to lose the series 0-5. In the same way, India started the ODI series by scoring 347 in the first match, but went on to lose 0-5. The target of 348 chased down by New Zealand is the second highest target they chased down in ODIs (highest being 350 against Australia at Hamilton in 2007). It is also the second highest by any team against India.

Highest targets chased down in ODIs against India

Team Score Overs Run rate Ground Date
Australia 359/6 47.5 7.50 Mohali 10-Mar-19
New Zealand 348/6 48.1 7.22 Hamilton 5-Feb-20
Pakistan 322/6 49.5 6.46 Mohali 8-Nov-07
Sri Lanka 322/3 48.4 6.61 The Oval 8-Jun-17
Pakistan 319/7 48.0 6.64 Ahmedabad 12-Apr-05


6 – Ross Taylor is the sixth player with two hundreds in successful ODI chases against India. Both his hundreds were at the same venue – at Hamilton. First was in 2014 series, chasing a target of 280, while this time his team chased a much higher target of 348. Other players with two hundreds in successful ODI chases against India are Gordon Greenidge, Sanath Jayasuriya, Chris Gayle, Salman Butt and Younis Khan.

7 – In the second match of the series, Kyle Jamieson scored an unbeaten 25 batting at no.10 and followed with figures of 2/42 while defending a relatively modest target of 274. This all-round performance made him become the seventh player to win man-of-the-match on ODI debut against India, and the first since Mustafizur Rahman in 2013. The other five players to do it are – Manzoor Elahi in 1984, Allan Donald in 1991, Alex Wharf in 2004, Jonny Bairstow in 2011 and Matthew Wade in 2012.

9* – Current streak of matches where Virat Kohli failed to score a single hundred. In his last 22 ODI innings, he scored only two hundreds – both of them being against West Indies.

10 – Shreyas Iyer continued his unbelievable start to his career, by scoring three fifties in all three matches of the series, but sadly India couldn’t win even one. He is the first player to score 50+ runs in all the matches of a series with at least three matches, without winning even one. He is the 10th player to score fifties in all the matches of a series lost, and the second from India after Azharuddin (min: 3 matches).

Scoring 50+ runs in all matches of a bilateral ODI series in losing cause (min: 3 matches)

Player Team Opposition Year Series result
Graham Gooch England Australia 1985 Lost 1-2
Javed Miandad Pakistan England 1987 Lost 1-2
Mohammad Azharuddin India Sri Lanka 1993 Lost 1-2
Roger Twose New Zealand Zimbabwe 2001 Lost 1-2
Alviro Petersen South Africa South Africa 2009 Lost 1-2
Brendan Taylor Zimbabwe New Zealand 2011 Lost 1-2
Darren Bravo West Indies India 2013 Lost 1-2
Tom Latham New Zealand South Africa 2015 Lost 1-2
Jason Roy England India 2017 Lost 1-2
Shreyas Iyer India New Zealand 2020 Lost 0-3


17 – Number of innings taken for Martin Guptill before scoring before his last international fifty against India. This is the biggest gap between two consecutive 50+ scores by an opening batsman against India (second being Gayle from 2013 till his last match in 2019). Guptill broke the unwanted record by scoring two fifties in a row, in the second and third ODI matches. He had 90+ runs partnership with Henry Nicholls in both matches.

An aspiring cricket statisitician who likes to dig numbers for any cricket in the world.