Categories: NewsWhat’s New

CPL 2020: Updated squads after the draft


Pravin Tambe has become the talk of the town in recent times. The 48-year-old leg-spinner is all set to become the first Indian to take part in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL). He was picked up by the Trinbago Knight Riders during the draft on Monday (July 6th).

This comes after Tambe was disqualified to play the Indian Premier League (IPL). He was pouched by the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the auction for the 2020 season (at his base price of INR 20 lakhs). In fact, he became the oldest player to be picked in the IPL auction. However, IPL’s Governing Council barred him from playing the cash-rich T20 league as he featured in a UAE-based T10 league.

Tambe has played 61 T20 matches, including 33 IPL games which came for two franchises – Rajasthan Royals (2013 to 2015) and Gujarat Lions (2016). The veteran leg-spinner hasn’t played in the IPL since 2016 and hasn’t featured in any T20 game since February 2017. But he’s all set to play under the Kieron Pollard-led TKR.

The 2020 season of the CPL is set to take to commence on August 18 and will be played till September 10. All matches will be played behind closed doors in Trinidad and Tobago after getting the approval from the local government.

There were some big names that were picked in this CPL draft which took place on Monday. Defending champions Barbados Tridents picked up Afghanistan star leg-spinner Rashid Khan along with other internationals like Alex Hales and Marcus Stoinis. Harry Gurney and Rahmanullah Gurbaz have also been handed out contracts by the Tridents.

Meanwhile, along with Tambe, the Knight Riders have added the likes of Fawad Alam who was a part of their successful title-winning campaign in 2018, Zimbabwean all-rounder Sikandar Raza and Kiwi wicket-keeper Tim Seifert.

Guyana Amazon Warriors who had a terrific run last season have picked eight players in the draft. They have signed up Ross Taylor, Imran Tahir, Chris Green, Brandon King, Shimron Hetmyer, Keemo Paul, Sherfane Rutherford and Naveen-ul-Haq.

On the other hand, Anrich Nortje and Rilee Rossouw bagged deals with St Lucia Zouks who will be without the services of Chris Gayle this season. St Kitts and Nevis Patriots have bagged the services of Chris Lynn, Ben Dunk, Ish Sodhi and Rassie van der Dussen as their international stars for the upcoming season. Fabian Allen, Evin Lewis, Sheldon Cottrell and Rayad Emrit are the local stars that were added to the Patriots squad.

Jamaica Tallawahs have signed up Carlos Braithwaite along with wrist-spinners Sandeep Lamichhane and Tabraiz Shamsi. Asif Ali has also bagged a contract with them. Glenn Phillips has been retained alongside the likes of Andre Russell, Rovman Powell and Oshane Thomas.


Complete Squads:

Jamaica Tallawahs: Andre Russell, Sandeep Lamichhane, Carlos Brathwaite, Rovman Powell, Tabrais Shamsi, Glenn Phillips, Chadwick Walton, Oshane Thomas, Asif Ali, Fidel Edwards, Preston McSween, Andre McCarthy, Nicholas Kirton, Jeavor Royal, Nkrumah Bonner, Veerasammy Permaul, Ryan Persaud.

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots: Evin Lewis, Fabian Allen, Chris Lynn, Ben Dunk, Rassie van der Dussen, Sohail Tanvir, Ish Sodhi, Sheldon Cottrell, Denesh Ramdin, Rayad Emrit, Dennis Bulli, Alzarri Joseph, Joshua de Silva, Dominic Drakes, Colin Archibald, Jon Russ Jaggesar, Sunny Sohal.

Trinbago Knight Riders: Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Dwayne Bravo, Darren Bravo, Colin Munro, Fawad Ahmed, Lendl Simmons, Khary Pierre, Khary Pierre, Tim Seifert, Sikandar Raza, Anderson Phillip, Pravin Tambe, Jayden Seales, Amir Jangoo, Tion Webster, Akeal Hosein, Muhammad Ali Khan.

Barbados Tridents: Jason Holder, Rashid Khan, Marcus Stoinis, Harry Gurney, Alex Hales, Johnson Charles, Shai Hope, Hayden Walsh Jr, Ashley Nurse, Jonathan Carter, Raymon Reifer, Kyle Mayers, Joshua Bishop, Nyeem Young, Justin Greaves, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Shayan Jahangir.

Guyana Amazon Warriors: Nicholas Pooran, Brandon King, Imran Tahir, Ross Taylor, Shimron Hetmyer, Chris Green, Qais Ahmad, Keemo Paul, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd, Naveen Ul Haq, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Kevin Sinclair, Ashmeade Nedd, Odean Smith, Anthony Bramble, Jasdeep Singh.

St Lucia Zouks: Daren Sammy, Rilee Rossouw, Mohammad Nabi, Colin Ingram, Andre Fletcher, Kesrick Williams, Anrich Nortje, Obed McCoy, Rahkeem Cornwall, Mark Deyal, Noor Ahmad, Kimani Melius, Leniko Boucher, Kavem Hodge, Javelle Glen, Saad Bin Zafar.

Comments are closed.

Recent Posts

WATCH: QDK’s ridiculous leg-side stumping that got the stamp of approval from world’s best

Leg side stumpings are hard, and we've seen several wicketkeepers struggle to effect those under pressure in crucial junctures of…

12 hours ago

WATCH: Two Monster Sixes from Glenn Maxwell’s record-breaking BBL Century

After an indifferent tournament, Glenn Maxwell finally produced his best for Melbourne Stars in the Big Bash League (BBL) 2021-22.…

16 hours ago

WATCH: Angry Virat Kohli fires throw at Bavuma’s head; batsman ducks just in time

It was quite odd to watch Virat Kohli not captaining in an Indian jersey on the field on Wednesday during…

17 hours ago

WATCH: Unmukt Chand smashes two massive Sixes in his second BBL Match

After an unsuccessful debut for Melbourne Renegades, Unmukt Chand looked more in his elements playing only his second-ever Big Bash…

17 hours ago

WATCH: Four in four balls – Cameron Boyce’s spectacular double hat-trick! 

The Big Bash League is throwing up all kinds of spectacular this season and on Wednesday it was Cameron Boyce's…

21 hours ago

THU vs REN Dream11 Prediction for BBL 2021-22: Playing XI, Fantasy Cricket Tips, Team, Weather Updates and Pitch Report

Preview for THU vs REN Dream11 Contest: Sydney Thunder will be facing Melbourne Renegades in Match 55 of the Big…

2 days ago