RR vs KXIP stats, IPL 2020 – Numbers from Gayle’s 99, Stokes all-round performance and more


The IPL season became even more closer with Rajasthan Royals defeating Kings XI Punjab by 7 wickets on Friday. They have put an end to KXIP’s five-match winning streak in a do-or-die match for them. At Abu Dhabi, the same venue where they chased 196 against MI in their previous match, they once again chased a huge target to keep their playoff hopes alive. From becoming the first player to 1000 T20 sixes to the first to score 99 twice in IPL, Gayle achieved a wide variety of unique records in IPL. He was the architect in setting RR a huge target. A quick fifty from Ben Stokes reached in the PowerPlay followed by an equally quick 48 from Sanju Samson helped RR chase it down. Here’s the list of numbers produced during the matches. 

Here are all the stats from RR vs KXIP. 

1000 – Chris Gayle becomes the first-ever player to complete 1000 sixes in T20 cricket. He is far ahead of any other player, with Kieron Pollard occupying the second spot at just 690 sixes in the shortest format.

2 – Chris Gayle while he was out for 99, becomes the first-ever player with two scores of 99 in IPL. Last year, he was unbeaten on 99 against RCB. Both the times, his team KXIP went on to lose the matches. However, each of the six hundreds of Chris Gayle in IPL ended up in wins.

Players with a score of 99 in IPL
Suresh Raina (99*) for CSK v SRH, 2013 (won)
Virat Kohli (99) for RCB v DC, 2013 (won)
Chris Gayle (99*) for KXIP v RCB, 2019 (lost)
Prithvi Shaw (99) for DC v KKR, 2019 (won via Super Over)
Ishan Kishan (99) for MI v RCB, 2020 (lost via Super Over)
Chris Gayle (99) for KXIP v RR, 2020 (lost)

11 – This is the eleventh time Chris Gayle hit 8 or more sixes in an IPL innings. The second-highest number of times a player hit 8 or more sixes in the league is AB de Villiers with just 4, followed by Andre Russell at 3.

11 – Ben Stokes produces the eleventh instance of a player scoring 50 or more runs, taking 2 or more wickets, and 1 or more catch in an IPL match. Moreover, it is only the second time in the last five seasons. The list of all such players to achieve this all-round treble in a match are given below:-
Sourav Ganguly for KKR v DEC, 2008
James Hopes for KXIP v RR, 2008
Shane Watson for RR v CSK, 2010
Yuvraj Singh for PWI v DC, 2011
Shane Watson for RR v MI, 2011
Kieron Pollard for MI v RR, 2012
Shane Watson for RR v PWI, 2012
Andre Russell for KKR v KXIP, 2015
JP Duminy for DC v SRH, 2015
Andre Russell for KKR v MI, 2019
Ben Stokes for RR v KXIP, 2020

1 – This is the first IPL season with 100 or more sixes from Rajasthan Royals batsmen.

1 –This is only the fourth instance of a team chasing 180+ target twice against the same team in a season.
Teams successfully chasing 180+ target twice against the opposition in a season
RCB vs KXIP in 2014
DC vs GL in 2017
CSK vs SRH in 2018
RR vs KXIP in 2020

2 – This is the second time in this season where Kings XI Punjab chased 180+ target against Rajasthan Royals. The other encounter was at Sharjah, where RR achieved the highest successful chase in IPL history.

1 – KXIP’s five-match winning streak comes to an end. Only once they had a longer streak, in 2014, where they won 8 in a row.

An aspiring cricket statisitician who likes to dig numbers for any cricket in the world.