Shakib Al Hasan T20 World Cup 2021 T20Is Highest Wicket-taker

BAN vs WI: Shakib Al Hasan returns to ODI squad


Shakib Al Hasan, Bangladesh’s leading all-rounder is all set to return to the international arena after he was selected in the ODI squad to face West Indies, the selectors confirmed on Saturday. This will be his first international assignment after he was banned from the sport in 2019 for failing to report a corrupt approach.

The all-rounder completed his ban and took part in a few domestic competitions arranged by the BCB. Bangladesh’s home series against West Indies will be their first bilateral series after the covid induced lockdown was imposed.

Former captain, Mashrafe Mortaza has been left out of the squad alongside Shafiul Islam. The 24 man provisional squad also does not include the likes of  Al Amin Hossain and Naeem Sheikh. The series will be Tamim Iqbal’s first assignment after he was named captain of the ODI squad.

“Naturally we are delighted to have Shakib Al Hasan back in the squad as we all know he is a game changer and we are expecting him to return to his best very soon,” Chief selector Minhajul Abedin told Cricbuzz. “We have picked Rubel Hossain as he bowled well in the domestic tournament while Taskin was injured earlier but now as he is fit and the way he is bowling, we felt that he deserves a chance.”

Also Read: PAK Vs SA: Experienced Duo Abbas And Masood Left Out Of Test Squad

“We have said earlier that the provisional squad was the reflection of our plan of action and that is why we could not include Mashrafe in it. Mahedi has been performing really well for the last two years and we feel it is the right time for him to get some exposure. As far as the pace duo is concerned both of them are bowling really fast and that impressed us a lot which paved their way into the squad,” he added/

“We are looking forward to seeing how Tamim handles the team and we are confident he would do well considering the experience he has in international cricket. It’s a new beginning for him as well as for the team considering we have prepared the squad with an eye on the future.”

Squad: Tamim Iqbal (C), Shakib Al Hasan, Najmul Hossain, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Litton Das, Mahmudullah, Afif Hossain, Soumya Sarkar, Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Mehidy Hasan, Mohammad Saiffudin, Mahadi Hasan, Hasan Mahmud, Shoriful Islam