Stats from KXIP vs DC match where Dhawan became the first player with back-to-back IPL hundreds


The first innings of KXIP vs DC at Dubai was all about only one batsman, Shikhar Dhawan, who became the first player to score IPL hundreds in back to back innings. Despite Dhawan’s hundred, Delhi Capitals finished with an unassuming score of 164/5.

While the centurion batted from the start till the end scoring 106* in 61 balls, the batsmen on the other end combined to score 54 runs in 59 balls, with only four boundaries. Some brilliant death bowling by Kings XI Punjab led by the new yorker specialist Mohammed Shami made sure the death overs were as calm as the start, and score just 164. Similar to RR in the previous match, KXIP lost three early wickets but avoided any more fuss and comfortably chased the target. Here we have a look at some numbers from the KXIP vs DC encounter.


Pooran with a well-deserved fifty tonight

9 – While Shikhar Dhawan became the first player to score hundreds in consecutive IPL innings, he is the 9th player to do it in all T20 cricket. Here’s a list of the other players who did the same.

David Warner for New South Wales in 2011 (135* vs CSK, 123* vs RCB)
Unmukt Chand for Delhi in 2013 (105 vs Kerala, 125 vs Gujarat)
Luke Wright for Sussex in 2014 (116* vs Hampshire, 153* vs Essex)
Michael Klinger for Gloucestershire in 2015 (104* vs Essex, 104* vs Wales)
Kevin Pietersen for Dolphins in 2015 (115* vs Highveld Lions, 100* vs Knights)
Marco Marais for Border in 2018 (103* vs Namibia, 106* vs Mpumalanga)
Reeza Hendricks for Jozi Stars in 2018 (104* vs Durban Heat, 108* vs Nelson Mandela Bay Giants)
Ishan Kishan for Jharkhand in 2019 (100* vs Jammu & Kashmir, 113* vs Manipur)

ALSO READ: What went wrong for DC

6 – Shikhar Dhawan also became the sixth player to score four consecutive 50+ scores in IPL. The other five are:-
Virender Sehwag in 2012
Virat Kohli in 2016
Kane Williamson in 2018
Jos Buttler in 2018
David Warner in 2019

Sehwag, Buttler and Warner scored five in a row.

15 – Dhawan is the fifteenth player to score an IPL hundred in losing cause, and the second player from Delhi Capitals after Rishabh Pant against SRH in 2016. He is the first player to score a hundred in losing cause against Kings XI Punjab.

4 – Total hundreds in 2020 IPL season, with each of them being by Indians. This is the joint-highest of any season, with 4 hundreds being scored by Indians in 2016 and 2019.

3 – While Shikhar Dhawan became the fifth player to reach 5000 IPL runs during KXIP vs DC, he is the third fastest to reach the milestone in terms of innings.

Fastest to 5000 IPL runs (by innings):-
135 – David Warner
157 – Virat Kohli
168 – Shikhar Dhawan
173 – Suresh Raina
186 – Rohit Sharma

15 – A rare failure for the Orange Cap holder KL Rahul in 2020 IPL. He has only one score lower than 15 during the season, which was 11(16) against SRH at Dubai.

5 – Number of times R Ashwin dismissed Chris Gayle in IPL. He becomes the second bowler to dismiss Gayle five times in IPL, after Harbhajan Singh. No one else has dismissed him more often. However it is the first time Ashwin dismissed Gayle since 2015.

22 – Total sixes hit by Nicholas Pooran, which is now the highest of any player in IPL 2020, overtaking de Villiers, Rahul and Samson. Despite a string of failures after two good knocks at Sharjah, Sanju Samson was on the top of the charts for more than half of the season.

21 – Total wickets taken by the Purple Cap leader Kagiso Rabada in 2020 IPL in just ten matches. He is the only player to take at least one wicket in each of his team’s matches this season. He took at least one wicket in each of his last 24 matches.

2018 – Only the second time after reaching the finals in 2014, Kings XI Punjab have won three consecutive IPL matches. The other streak was in 2018.

An aspiring cricket statisitician who likes to dig numbers for any cricket in the world.