Stats from KKR vs DC and KXIP vs SRH: Narine-Rana partnership, Lowest totals defended and more


The team batting first could win after quite a few days and it happened in both the double headers – KKR vs DC and KXIP vs DC. While the first match was a totally one-sided encounter, the second match also went by the same tag until the fifteenth over before the winning probabilities were almost reversed. Nitish Rana despite personal losses on the same day, achieved his second best IPL career score of 81 against Delhi Capitals.

He shared a century partnership with Sunil Narine, who was also under a lot of pressure due to being reported for suspect action and lack of form with the bat. In the following innings after Pat Cummins dismissed both the Delhi Capitals openers, Varun Chakravarthy wrecked havoc on the middle order dismissing each of the No.3-7 batsmen to seal the fate of the game.

Yet another dominant team bowling performance by Sunrisers Hyderabad in the other match, as Sandeep Sharma, Jason Holder and Rashid Khan share two wickets each while restricting KXIP to 126/7. David Warner and Jonny Bairstow share a brisk fifty partnership, as SRH were 52 for no loss at the end of the Powerplay. Needing 75 in 84 balls with all ten wickets left, the match was almost sealed too quick. Ravi Bishnoi then dismisses Warner, followed by M Ashwin dismissing Bairstow in consecutive overs. Then came the eternal middle order worries for SRH, which took a small break during their last match against RR. But the target was too small, and the batsmen managed to keep it down to 30 in 30 with 7 wickets left. Some exceptional death bowling from Chris Jordan and Arshdeep Singh helped KXIP claim these remaining seven wickets for just 19 runs to steal one of the biggest heists in IPL. Interestingly Jordan was dropped and Arshdeep bowled with 0/30 in his three overs in KXIP’s last match.

Here’s a look at the numbers produced during the encounters.

Stats from KKR vs DC match

10 – The 81 in the KKR vs DC game was Nitish Rana’s tenth IPL fifty, making him the first ever uncapped player to reach ten IPL scores of fifty or more. Suryakumar Yadav is close to him, with 9.

1 – This is the first time Sunil Narine scored a T20 fifty while batting for a non-opening position. His previous best score while not opening is 46 for Trinbago Knight Riders against Jamaica Tallawahs in 2019 CPL. His previous best IPL score while not opening was just 17, against CSK also in 2020 IPL season (the last time he batted).

2 – This is only the second time Narine was involved in a century partnership in IPL. The first instance was with Chris Lynn in 2017, and then with Nitish Rana today in KKR vs DC.

2 – Varun Chakravarthy became only the second uncapped player to take a five-wicket haul in IPL. The first to do it is Ankit Rajpoot for KXIP in 2017.

2 – Only the second time Delhi Capitals conceded a century partnership for fourth or higher wicket in IPL. The first instance against DC was also by KKR players (Manish Pandey & Yusuf Pathan in 2017). Now Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings is clearly the lowest among active teams in this regard.
Conceding century partnerships at 4th or lower wicket on least occasions (among active teams):-
7 times – by RCB
4 times – by KXIP
5 times – by RR, KKR
2 times – by DC, SRH
1 time – by MI, CSK

3 – This is only the third time Kolkata Knight Riders won an IPL match by over 50 runs. The first time was during the first ever IPL match, where they beat RCB by 140 runs. The second instance was another hammering to the Delhi team, as they won by 71 runs at Kolkata in 2018. 

4 – Before the match, Delhi Capitals won each of their last 4 matches against Kolkata Knight Riders, as DC miss five in a row. The only team against which Delhi Capitals won five consecutive head-to-head IPL matches is Rajasthan Royals (2018-20).

Stats from KXIP vs SRH match

5 – Sandeep Sharma took his 100th IPL wicket in the KXIP vs SRH game while dismissing Mandeep Singh to take the first wicket of the match. He is the fifth fastest player and the third fastest Indian pacer to reach the milestone.

Fastest Indians to 100 IPL wickets (by matches):-
81 – Bhuvneshwar Kumar
83 – Amit Mishra
83 – Ashish Nehra
84 – Yuzvendra Chahal
87 – Sandeep Sharma

2 – Sunrisers Hyderabad were all-out twice in each of IPL 2018, 2019 and 2020. It is only the second instance of a team registering multiple all-outs in 3 consecutive IPL seasons – with the other team being Rajasthan Royals thrice all-out in 2009, 2010 and 2011.

9 – Consecutive fifties against Kings XI Punjab by David Warner until the streak broken today. After KL Rahul reviews a catch he took that made Warner out at 35, he couldn’t become the first player to score 10 T20 fifties against an opposition.

5 – Yet another negative streak for David Warner. This is the first time Warner scored under fifty runs in five consecutive innings for Sunrisers Hyderabad since he started playing for the team since 2014.

121.22 – Manish Pandey’s overall strike-rate in the IPL, who scored 15(29) without a boundary today. This is now the lowest IPL strike-rate among all players who faced 2500+ balls in the league, overtaking Ajinkya Rahane from the top-spot.

17 – Total wickets taken by Chris Jordan in IPL, out of which 6 wickets are against SRH and 6 wickets are against GL. He doesn’t have more than one wicket against any team.

7 – The total defended by Kings XI in the KXIP vs SRH game is jointly the seventh lowest total defended by a team in IPL, and the lowest against Sunrisers Hyderabad. Coincidentally in the other match when a team defended exactly 127 runs, Manish Pandey also scored 15(29) without a boundary. Here’s the list of all teams defending sub-130 target in IPL.
Lowest scores defended by a team (non-reduced matches)
117 – by CSK v KXIP at Durban, 2009
119 – by SRH v MI at Mumbai, 2018
120 – by KXIP v MI at Durban, 2009
120 – by SRH v PWI at Pune, 2013
121 – by MI v PWI at Pune, 2012
126 – by RCB v CSK at Chennai, 2008
127 – by SRH vs PWI at Hyderabad, 2013
127 – by KXIP vs SRH at Abu Dhabi, 2020
129 – by DEC v KTK at Kochi, 2014

4 – Consecutive matches Kings XI Punjab won. It is their second streak of winning four consecutive matches since 2015 – with the other streak being at the start of 2018 season.

ALSO READ: Stats from SRH win over RR

2 – Both the matches today – KKR vs DC and KXIP vs SRH – were won by the team chasing. Until today, 10 of the last 11 matches this season were won by the team chasing (the only other match is by KKR, after a Super Over).

An aspiring cricket statisitician who likes to dig numbers for any cricket in the world.