The Hundred 2021: Final round of player movements, latest squad changes and final player list


The inaugural edition of ‘The Hundred’ experienced its final round of player movements on Friday (July 2), with the league set for the absence of Nicholas Pooran, Aaron Finch in the men’s tournament and Alyssa Healy, Meg Lanning in its female version. 

As many as 21 replacements were confirmed by England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) as players opt out of ‘The Hundred’ citing clashes with the international calendar and multiple travelling restrictions amid the COVID-19 pandemic. 

The cases of Pooran, Finch, Healy and Lanning being no different, their teams have roped in Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir and Shabnim Ismail, Laura Wolvaardt as direct replacements for the season. 


The Hundred

Finch was due to captain Northern Superchargers in The Hundred

The Hundred experiences its final round of player movements

The women’s competition is the worst hit by 10 Australian players have pulled out, who are wary of the mandatory two-week quarantine upon their return ahead of the international home summer starting September 19. Among those who signed the contracts, Ellyse Perry is the only Aussie women cricketer who will play the competition. 

Also Read‘The Hundred’ can cause a revolution like T20, feels Yuvraj

Similarly, only two of the male cricketers from Down Under – Chris Lynn and Josh Inglis – will take part in The Hundred this year after the likes of Finch, Glenn Maxwell, Adam Zampa and Marcus Stoinis opted out. Finch, who was appointed Northern Superchargers captain, has now been replaced by Du Plessis as skipper. 

Notably, multiple New Zealand players have come on board as replacements. The likes of Colin Munro, Glenn Phillips, Adam Milne, Finn Allen and Jimmy Neesham will now be seen playing the inaugural 100-ball competition. 

There have been four male domestic replacements as well in The Hundred as Jordan Thompson come in for the injured Olly Stone at Northern Superchargers, Manchester Originals witness a swap of the retired Harry Gurney and the injured Wayne Madsen with Ollie Robinson and Sam Hain, while young Will Smeed takes the place of injured Henry Brookes at Birmingham Phoenix. 

As per the tournament regulations, each of the eight The Hundred sides will be making one further signing in the wildcard draft. “Jake Lintott, Dillon Pennington, Sam Cook and Freddie Klaassen,” ESPNcricinfo reported, are “understood to be among the players picked up” from the wildcard draft. 

The Hundred kicks off on July 21 and has its final scheduled for August 21. 

Here’s the list of confirmed inclusion and exclusions from each team’s roster in The Hundred: 

Birmingham Phoenix:

IN: Adam Milne, Imran Tahir, Finn Allen, Erin Burns, Will Smeed

OUT: Shaheen Shah Afridi, Adam Zampa, Kane Williamson, Ashleigh Gardner, Henry Brookes

London Spirit:

IN: Josh Inglis, Grace Scrivens

OUT: Glenn Maxwell

Manchester Originals:

IN: Carlos Brathwaite, Colin Munro, Lockie Ferguson, Ollie Robinson, Sam Hain, Laura Jackson

OUT: Shadab Khan, Nicholas Pooran, Kagiso Radaba, Harry Gurney, Wayne Madsen

Northern Superchargers:

IN: Faf du Plessis, Jordan Thompson, Laura Kimmince, Laura Wolvaardt, Sterre Karlis, Kalea Moore

OUT: Aaron Finch, Olly Stone, Nicola Carey, Alyssa Healy

Oval Invincibles:

IN: Shabnim Ismail, Danielle Gregory

OUT: Rachael Haynes

Southern Brave:

IN: Devon Conway, Quinton de Kock, Amanda-Jade Wellington, Ella McCaughan, Charlotte Taylor

OUT: Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Amelia Kerr

Trent Rockets:

IN: Wahab Riaz, Heather Graham, Sammy-Jo Johnson, Rachel Priest, Ella Claridge, Emily Windsor

OUT: Nathan Coulter-Nile, Annabel Sutherland, Sophie Molineux, Elyse Villani

Welsh Fire:

IN: Jimmy Neesham (first three games), Lungi Ngidi (next five games), Glenn Phillips (until Pollard arrives), Piepa Cleary, Sune Luus, Georgia Redmayne, Bethan Ellis, Lissy Macleod, Nicole Harvey

OUT: Jhye Richardson, Kieron Pollard (partial), Georgia Wareham, Meg Lanning, Beth Mooney

A cricket writer by heart and profession. Currently at work for CricXtasy. Previously with Circle of Cricket. You can find him on Twitter @crickashish217