Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli wins ICC Male Cricketer of the Decade Award, MS Dhoni receives Spirit of Cricket Award


India captain, Virat Kohli bagged the top honors at the ICC Player of the Decade Awards, after he won the Sir Garfield Sobers award for the best male cricketer of the past ten years. Kohli also won the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Decade Award. Virat Kohli was the only player with more than 10,000 runs in this decade, as chosen by ICC.

Former Indian captain, MS Dhoni received the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award of the Decade which was voted by the fans for his gesture of calling back Ian Bell after a controversial runout in the Nottingham Test in 2011.

Rashid Khan was named the ICC T20 player of the decade, whereas Australian, Steven Smith was named the ICC Test Player of the Decade. Australia’s Elysse Perry swept all the awards in the women’s category, winning the ODI and T20 player of the decade awards along with the Player of the Decade Award.

Also Read: India-England Series May See Fans Returning With Latest Sports Ministry SOP Allows 50% Entrance

It’s a great honor for me to receive this award: Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli stated that it was a great honor for him to receive the award and highlighted some memorable moments he had in this decade. “Firstly it’s a great honor for me to receive this award. The moments I hold close to my heart in the last decade has to be the World Cup win in 2011, the Champions Trophy win in 2013 and winning the series in Australia in 2018,” said Kohli.

On also being named the ODI Cricketer of the Decade, Kohli said, “ODI cricket is something I took to very early. I came to the ODI Team first and made my Test debut a couple of years later. So I got the understanding of my game pretty soon, pretty early. And as I mentioned before, my only intention was to make winning contributions for the team and I just tried to do that in every game I play.”