IPL Betting Sites
Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli named in all three ICC Teams of the decade, MS Dhoni named captain of ODI and T20I team


ICC announced the Men’s Team of the Decade for all three formats on Sunday. Virat Kohli who has been one of the most consistent players in the past decade, found himself in all three teams, without a surprise. The Indian captain was also chosen as the captain of the ICC Test team.

MS Dhoni who retired from international cricket in August, found his name in the ODI and T20I squads, and was also elected as the captain of both teams. Rohit Sharma was part of both the limited overs squads. Jasprit Bumrah was included in the T20I squad, whereas Ravichandran Ashwin was elected in the Test team.

Men’s Test Team of the Decade: Virat Kohli elected captain

Virat Kohli was elected the captain of the Test team of the decade. The only other Indian besides Kohli was Ashwin. Alastair Cook and David Warner were chosen as openers for the team, with Kane Williamson, Virat Kohli and Steve Smith forming a part of the middle order. Sri Lankan legend, Kumar Sangakkara was chosen as the wicket keeper. Ben Stokes and Ashwin were the all-rounders, who were joined by a deadly pace bowling trio of James Anderson, Stuart Broad and Dale Steyn.

Also Read: AUS Vs IND: Rahane’s Knock Was All About Patience, Reckons Gill

Men’s ODI Team of the Decade: Three Indians make the list

Three Indians were included in the ODI team of the decade. MS Dhoni was elected as the captain and was joined by Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli. The Indian duo of Kohli and Rohit have arguably been the best white-ball players in the past decade and there was no surprise there. David Warner found himself to be part of the ODI squad. Mr.360, AB de Villiers was chosen to bat at number four. Although the South African has retired from international cricket, his inclusion is no surprise given his exploits in the past decade. Shakib-Al-Hasan and Ben Stokes were elected as the all rounders. Mitchell Starc, Lasith Malinga and Trent Boult formed the pace attack while Imran Tahir was chosen as the spinner.

Men’s T20I Team of the Decade: Bumrah selected in the squad

The T20I team was dominated by the Indian team, which had four players. Rohit Sharma, Kohli, MS Dhoni and Bumrah were part of the T20I team. MS Dhoni was chosen as the captain. The Universe Boss, Chris Gayle was also part of the squad, along with countryman, Kieron Pollard. They played a vital part in the West Indies’ two T20 World Cup winning campaigns. Without a doubt, AB de Villiers was part of the squad. Australian limited overs captain, Aaron Finch was also included in the squad. Glenn Maxwell was elected as the all-rounder, alongside Pollard. Bumrah, Malinga were the fast bowlers, whereas Rashid Khan was selected to lead the spin department.