England announce full-strength T20 squad; Livingstone returns to Morgan-led side


England Cricket Board (ECB) have announced the squad for the five-match T20I series against India, slated to be played just after the Test series, in Ahmedabad.

England skipper Eoin Morgan has repeatedly spoken about the need for their team to define the role of players ahead of the T20 World Cup in India and as they promised, the Ed Smith-led selection panel have announced their strongest possible squad for the Indian tour.

While Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonathan Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran have all made it to the side, the biggest news has to be the inclusion of Liam Livingstone.

Also Read: T Natarajan Released From Tamil Nadu Squad On BCCI Request

The Lancashire batsman was a part of England’s ODI squad for the tour of South Africa and his impressive performances for Perth Scorchers in the latest edition of the Big Bash League have helped him to the national side.

While Reece Topley, Mark Wood have retained their place, Jake Ball and Matt Parkinson are the two reserve players in the squad who will be joining in case any injury issue comes up.

As per the plan, England will play five T20Is at the refurbished Sardar Patel Stadium in Motera before both sides travel to Pune for three ODIs but the squad for that will be announced later.

England Squad

Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonathan Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, Mark Wood.